Round Rock Chamber Announces Leadership Class

Participants prepare to increase their leadership capabilities

ROUND ROCK, Texas – The Round Rock Chamber today announced the 2019 Leadership Round Rock and Ascend participants. The chamber’s leadership programs are designed to help current and emerging leaders understand the dynamics of the community and the role leadership plays in its long-term success. Graduates emerge from the program with an unprecedented level of community awareness as well as insights that they can apply in the workplace. By developing a strong and diverse pool of community leaders, the chamber is ensuring that Round Rock’s future will meet or exceed its successful past.

The 2019 Leadership Round Rock class consists of:

August Alvarado, U.S. House of Representatives – John Carter

Katie Baker, City of Round Rock

Lee Bauermeister, Blue Monster Thrift

Sara Bustilloz, City of Round Rock

Leah Clark, State Senator Charles Schwerter

Thomas Cooper, Maxwell Locke & Ritter LLP

Melissa Fleming, Fleming & Conway Allstate

Isaac Higgins, Cage Free Care

Joseph Jones, Blue & Associates, Inc.

Tyler Jones, Frost Bank

Paul LaPota, LaPota Farmers Insurance and Financial Services

John Lampert, Baylor Scott & White Health

Katie Latinize, St. David’s Round Rock Medical Center

Sharon Mackenzie, Wells Fargo

Lauren McAndrews, Opportunities for Williamson and Burnet Counties

Rod Mercado, Dell EMC

Ronald Mick, BGE, Inc.

Benedict Patrick, HDR Engineering, Inc.

Barrett Schulz, Lott Brothers Construction Company

Rachael Sefton, Round Rock Independent School District

Jillene Thrash, Seton Williamson Foundation

Cortney Tucker, Citizens National Bank

Nichole Vance, Round Rock Chamber

Francisco “Cisco” Vicent, City of Round Rock

Jennifer Welch, Amazing Realty

“Our leadership programs are an important component of the chamber’s economic-generation efforts.” said Amy Mizcles, the chamber’s vice president of community enhancement. “We look forward to watching this cohort of participants grow in their knowledge of Round Rock and strengthen their abilities to positively impact our city.”

Leadership Round Rock consists of ten, full-day sessions occurring from January through December. Past participants are serving in roles ranging from CEOs to elected officials. The program sets the tone for responding to change by challenging participants to identify their own passions, take ownership of their surroundings, and get involved in making a difference.

The mission of the Ascend Emerging Leaders program is to support, cultivate, and attract emerging leaders by providing access to business resources, educational opportunities, and community partnerships in an effort to enhance the Round Rock area.

The 2019 Ascend class consists of:

Garrett Blount, Watkins Insurance Group

Deana Cavanaugh, Lott Brothers Construction Company

Tyler Deck, Deck Law Firm PLLC

Charles Gaines, Abilene Christian University

Allison Hale, SOS Mechanical

Evan Hays, Georgetown Title Company

Michelle Ly, The Rock Sports Bar

Amy Merida, Greater Round Rock Community Foundation

Regina Munson, Anchor-Ventana Glass

Aneil Naik, City of Round Rock

Amy Norris, Edward Jones

William “Trey” Swor III, Joeris General Contractors

Charles Waters, R Bank

Brad Wiseman, City of Round Rock


About the Round Rock Chamber

The Round Rock Chamber is the economic generator for its thriving community. Honored with the 2018 Chamber of the Year Award by the Association of Chamber of Commerce Executives for its work in the Eight Pillars of Economic Generation and for its operational excellence, the chamber is the catalyst for building prosperity in Round Rock. The chamber initiates programs that create a dynamic business climate and improved quality of life through innovative community partnerships and invested business leaders. For more information, visit, roundrockchamber.org.